Halal Certified Taurine

Halal Taurine

Taurine is an organic acid manufactured through chemical synthesis. Taurine is a conditionally essential amino acid, which naturally occurs in the body of all mammals (including humans.) However, the Taurine that is contained in Red Bull is synthetically produced and contains no animal extracts or derivatives, therefore it is suitable for consumption by
vegetarians and vegans as well as being certified as Halal and Kosher by the relevant federations.

Taurine, or 2-aminoethanesulfonic acid, is an organic compound that is widely distributed in animal tissues. It is a major constituent of bile and can be found in the large intestine, and accounts for up to 0.1% of total human body weight.

If taurine (which is usually used in energy drinks such as Red Bull) is produced of animal sources, all the conditions which is requiered for animal meat to be considered halal is necessary here as well. But if it was made on an artificial method (which some companies claim) with no animal source, it could be considered halal.

What is Halal Taurine?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Taurine for years.

The manufacturing process of Taurine is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products