Halal Edible Casein
Edible Casein is a family of related phosphoproteins (αS1, αS2, β, κ) manufactured through extraction from milk, available as Creamy Powder. As a natural ingredient, Edible Casein is general recognized as halal. Edible Casein is a high quality milk protein product produced by acid precipitation of the casein from dry milk. This product is white and has a bland flavor. It can be used for non-dairy creamers, sauces,caseinates, pharmaceutical products, and paper coatings/glues.
What is Halal Edible Casein?
It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Edible Casein for years.
The manufacturing process of Edible Casein is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.
Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.
By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:
1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.
2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.
All foods are considered Halal except the following:
-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants
-Non-Halal animal fat
-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)
-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)
-L-cysteine (if from human hair)
-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)
-Non-Halal animal shortening
-Unspecified meat broth
-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)
-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)
-Tallow (non-Halal species)
-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals
-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.