Halal Certified Modified Starch

(Last Updated On: November 15, 2017)

Halal Modified Starch

Halal Modified Starch is a type of processed starch derived from corn or other plant, available as white powder. As a plant derived ingredients, this food additive is general recognized as halal. Modified Starch is a genetically modified variant of common corn starch. Modified Starch appears as a white fine powder with a natural odor and taste. Modified Starch is widely used in liquid-based products such as sauces or soups, often as a thickening agent. Typical applications of this product include butter, cheese, salad oil, pudding, and grilled goods.

What is Halal Modified Starch?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Modified Starch for years.

The manufacturing process of Modified Starch is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.