Halal Certified Sodium Diacetate

(Last Updated On: December 15, 2017)

Halal Sodium Diacetate E262

Halal Sodium Diacetate is a sodium acid salt of acetic acid, available as White, hygroscopic crystalline solid with an acetic odour. As a synthesized chemical, this food preservative is general recognized as halal. Sodium diacetate E262 is a free flowing, acidic sodium salt widely used as food flavoring, preservative, and pH buffer. The compound consists of acetic acid and sodium acetate. As a food flavoring agent sodium diacetate is most often used to impart a vinegar flavor in snacks, breads, and soups. As a preservative, it can effective in preventing the development of several mold strains and is also used as an antibacterial agent to prolong the shelf life of many food types.

What is Halal Sodium diacetate E262?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Sodium diacetate E262 for years.

The manufacturing process of Sodium diacetate E262 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.