Calcium Propionate Gluten Free

Calcium Propionate E282 is a calcium salt of propanoic acid manufactured through chemical synthesis, available as white granular or powder. It’s widely used as preservative in food processing for its antimicrobial effect.

Calcium Propionate Powder

Is Calcium Propionate E282 gluten free?

Yes. Calcium Propionate E282 is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide better appearance and longer shelf-life to bread, other baked goods, processed meat, whey, and other dairy products.

Why is Calcium Propionate E282 gluten free?

Gluten is a type of elastic grain protein that helps wheat, rye and barley hold their shape. Because of its glue-like properties, gluten is often added to other food products—pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods—to thicken or bind those products together. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Calcium Propionate E282 are propanoic acid; So the manufacturing process of Calcium Propionate E282 is gluten free. So, Calcium Propionate E282 is gluten free.

Why should you go Gluten free, Gluten free foods are good or not?

People with celiac disease or Gluten intolerance or sensitivity should intake gluen free foods. Nowadays more and more groceries and health food stores stock gluten-free products. That’s good for people with celiac disease, who for health reasons should not eat wheat with gluten. The market for gluten-free products is exploding. Many people may just perceive that a gluten-free diet is healthier.

Is it necessary for all people to eat gluten foods? In fact, it isn’t. For people with celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is essential. But for others, unless people are very careful, a gluten-free diet can lack vitamins, minerals, and fiber.

Leave a Comment