Does anyone know if Sodium Metabisulfite is gluten free?
Yes. Sodium Metabisulfite is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide longer shelf-life to wine and beer.
Sodium metabisulfite or sodium pyrosulfite is an inorganic compound of chemical formula Na2S2O5. It is white or light yellow powder. Sodium metabisulfite is sometimes referred to as disodium metabisulfite. It is used as a disinfectant, antioxidant, and preservative agent.
Why is Sodium Metabisulfite gluten free?
Gluten is a type of elastic grain protein that helps wheat, rye and barley hold their shape. Because of its glue-like properties, gluten is often added to other food products—pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods—to thicken or bind those products together. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Sodium Metabisulfite are chemicals; So the manufacturing process of Sodium Metabisulfite is gluten free. So, Sodium Metabisulfite is gluten free.
How is Sodium Metabisulfite used in gluten free food?
Sodium Metabisulfite is widely used in food production to provide longer shelf-life to wine and beer. Sodium Metabisulfite is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.
Why should you go Gluten free?
Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.
Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.
One Response to “Is Sodium Metabisulfite Gluten Free”
Thank you for this as I have been looking for ages as the metabisulphite is on my juice and have been looking if this contains gluten.