Potassium Benzoate Gluten Free

Does anyone know if Potassium Benzoate E212 is gluten free? 

Yes, Potassium Benzoate E212 is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food used as a food preservative or antimicrobial agent in cheese, fruit juices, sparking drinks, and soft drinks. Potassium Benzoate E212 is a white granule, flaky or crystalline powder.

Why is Potassium Benzoate E212 gluten free?

Gluten is a type of elastic grain protein that helps wheat, rye and barley hold their shape. Because of its glue-like properties, gluten is often added to other food products—pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods—to thicken or bind those products together. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Potassium Benzoate E212 are potassium hydroxide and Benzoic Acid E210; so the The manufacturing process of Potassium Benzoate E212 is gluen free. So, Potassium Benzoate E212 is gluten free.

What foods contain Potassium Benzoate E212?

Potassium Benzoate E212 is a food preservative that inhibits the growth of mold, yeast and some bacteria. It works best in low-pH products. It is used in acidic foods such as fruit juice (citric acid), sparkling drinks (carbonic acid), soft drinks (Phosphoric Acid), and pickles (vinegar) and various other foods and beverages.

Why should you go Gluten free, Gluten free foods are good or not?

People with celiac disease or Gluten intolerance or sensitivity should intake gluen free foods. Nowadays more and more groceries and health food stores stock gluten-free products. That’s good for people with celiac disease, who for health reasons should not eat wheat with gluten. The market for gluten-free products is exploding. Many people may just perceive that a gluten-free diet is healthier.

Is it necessary for all people to eat gluten foods? In fact, it isn’t. For people with celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is essential. But for others, unless people are very careful, a gluten-free diet can lack vitamins, minerals, and fiber.

How to avoid Gluten ingredients?

Someone is strict adherence to a gluten-free diet for life. It requires knowledgeable nutritional counseling and frequent updates as commercial food contents change. must be alert to hidden sources of gluten such as HVP/HPP (hydrolyzed vegetable/plant protein). Today’s processed and packaged foods have many hidden sources of gluten, which can be unintentionally ingested. To be safe, a person should read ingredients on labels every time they purchase food as manufacturers frequently change ingredients.

Leave a Comment