Sorbitol Gluten Free

Sorbitol E420 is a sugar alcohol derived from glucose, available as white crystalline granule or powder. It’s widely used as sweetener in chewing gum in food, beverage and bakery for its a great sugar alcohol with a sweet taste which the human body metabolizes slowly.

Is Sorbitol E420 gluten free?

Yes. Sorbitol E420 is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide sweet taste to diet foods (including diet drinks and ice cream), mints, cough syrups, and sugar-free chewing gum.


Why is Sorbitol E420 gluten free?

Gluten is a type of elastic grain protein that helps wheat, rye and barley hold their shape. Because of its glue-like properties, gluten is often added to other food products—pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods—to thicken or bind those products together. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Sorbitol E420 are corn starch; So the manufacturing process of Sorbitol E420 is gluten free. So, Sorbitol E420 is gluten free.


Why should you go Gluten free, Gluten free foods are good or not?

People with celiac disease or Gluten intolerance or sensitivity should intake gluen free foods. Nowadays more and more groceries and health food stores stock gluten-free products. That’s good for people with celiac disease, who for health reasons should not eat wheat with gluten. The market for gluten-free products is exploding. Many people may just perceive that a gluten-free diet is healthier.

Is it necessary for all people to eat gluten foods? In fact, it isn’t. For people with celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is essential. But for others, unless people are very careful, a gluten-free diet can lack vitamins, minerals, and fiber.


Post Tags -

Leave a Comment