Potassium Sorbate Gluten Free

Does anyone know if Potassium Sorbate E202 is gluten free? 

Yes, Potassium Sorbate E202 is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food used as a food preservative for a variety of applications including food and wine. Potassium Sorbate E202 is the potassium salt of Sorbic Acid E200. It appears as a white to off-white sphere. Potassium Sorbate E202 is used to inhibit molds and yeasts in many foods, such as cheese, wine, yogurt, dried meats, apple cider, soft drinks, fruit drinks, and baked goods. It can also be used in dried fruit products.

Why is Potassium Sorbate E202 gluten free?

Gluten is a type of elastic grain protein that helps wheat, rye and barley hold their shape. Because of its glue-like properties, gluten is often added to other food products—pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods—to thicken or bind those products together. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Potassium Sorbate E202 are potassium hydroxide and sorbic Acid E200; So The manufacturing process of Potassium Sorbate E202 is gluten free. So, Potassium Sorbate E202 is gluten free.

What foods contain Potassium Sorbate E202?

Potassium Sorbate E202 is a white powder made from neutralizingpotassium hydroxide with ascorbic acid. It is used to inhibit mold and yeast, and is used in food, drinks, vegetables in soy, drugs and even cosmetics. Used primarily as a preservative, it inhibits the growth of mold, yeast, and other microorganisms for shelf life stability. It is available in granular, powder, and bead versions. Potassium Sorbate E202 is often used in applications such as cheese, wine, dried fruit, yogurt, pet foods, dried meats, soft drinks, and baked goods.

Why should you go Gluten free, Gluten free foods are good or not?

People with celiac disease or Gluten intolerance or sensitivity should intake gluen free foods. Nowadays more and more groceries and health food stores stock gluten-free products. That’s good for people with celiac disease, who for health reasons should not eat wheat with gluten. The market for gluten-free products is exploding. Many people may just perceive that a gluten-free diet is healthier.

Is it necessary for all people to eat gluten foods? In fact, it isn’t. For people with celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is essential. But for others, unless people are very careful, a gluten-free diet can lack vitamins, minerals, and fiber.

How to avoid Gluten ingredients?

Someone is strict adherence to a gluten-free diet for life. It requires knowledgeable nutritional counseling and frequent updates as commercial food contents change. must be alert to hidden sources of gluten such as HVP/HPP (hydrolyzed vegetable/plant protein). Today’s processed and packaged foods have many hidden sources of gluten, which can be unintentionally ingested. To be safe, a person should read ingredients on labels every time they purchase food as manufacturers frequently change ingredients.


Leave a Comment