Konjac Gum Gluten Free

Does anyone know if Konjac Gum E425(i) is gluten free? 

Konjac Gum Side Effects

Yes, Konjac Gum E425(i) is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food as a thickening, stabilizing, gelling and bonding agent. Konjac Gum E425 is a white to cream-colored free flowing powder that is water soluble. It is a low calorie, low protein, high dietary fiber and has a dozen amino acids and trace elements. Konjac Gum is used in the food and beverage industry  Konjac Gum E425(i) can be added to jellies, jam, vegetable juice, ice cream and other cold drinks, solid drink, seasoning powder and soup powder. Specifically, Konjac Gum E425(i) used in products formulated to battle hypertension, obesity, diabetes, and constipation. Konjac Gum in the active ingredient glucomannan (KGM).

Why is Konjac Gum E425(i) gluten free?

Gluten is a type of elastic grain protein that helps wheat, rye and barley hold their shape. Because of its glue-like properties, gluten is often added to other food products—pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods—to thicken or bind those products together.  Raw materials used in manufacturing of Konjac Gum are konjac corm; So The manufacturing process of Konjac Gum is gluten free. So, Konjac Gum is gluten free.

What foods contain Konjac Gum E425(i)?

Konjac Gum E425(i) is a water-soluble dietary fiber. It has low-calorie, low-protein, high dietary fiber characteristics. Its properties include water-solubility, thickening, stability, suspension, gel, film, and bonding capabilities. Konjac Gum Gum E425(i) is used instead of Locust Bean Gum in a stabilizer and added to ice cream, cheese and other dairy products, it will stabilize their quality by preventing the development of ice crystals. It is used as a thickening, stabilizer and gelling agent in food products. Applications include jelly, flour and a substitute for gelatin.

Why should you go Gluten free, Gluten free foods are good or not?

People with celiac disease or Gluten intolerance or sensitivity should intake gluen free foods. Nowadays more and more groceries and health food stores stock gluten-free products. That’s good for people with celiac disease, who for health reasons should not eat wheat with gluten. The market for gluten-free products is exploding. Many people may just perceive that a gluten-free diet is healthier.

Is it necessary for all people to eat gluten foods? In fact, it isn’t. For people with celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is essential. But for others, unless people are very careful, a gluten-free diet can lack vitamins, minerals, and fiber.

How to avoid Gluten ingredients?

Someone is strict adherence to a gluten-free diet for life. It requires knowledgeable nutritional counseling and frequent updates as commercial food contents change. must be alert to hidden sources of gluten such as HVP/HPP (hydrolyzed vegetable/plant protein). Today’s processed and packaged foods have many hidden sources of gluten, which can be unintentionally ingested. To be safe, a person should read ingredients on labels every time they purchase food as manufacturers frequently change ingredients.

Leave a Comment