Halal Certified Disodium Pyrophosphate

Halal Disodium Pyrophosphate E541

Halal Disodium Pyrophosphate is a popular leavening agent in baking powders. As a synthesized chemical, this phosphate is general recognized as halal. DiSodium pyrophosphate E541 has many applications in the food industry as a chelant and thickening agent. In combination with cornstarch, it is a primary ingredient in Bakewell Baking Powder, which gained notoriety during WW II when regular baking powder became scarce. This powder is still sold today as a gluten-free alternative to baking powder and cream of tartar. It is also a common food additive found in frozen foods, ready-made puddings, and some soy-based products.

What is Halal DiSodium pyrophosphate E541?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal DiSodium pyrophosphate E541 for years.

The manufacturing process of Disodium Pyrophosphate E541 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.