Halal Certified Ethyl Maltol

Halal Ethyl Maltol E637

Halal Ethyl Maltol E637 is a common flavorant manufactured through chemical synthesis from maltol, available as White crystalline powder. As a synthesized chemical, this food flavouring is general recognized as halal. Ethyl Maltol E637: Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. It is a white crystalline powder having a characteristic odor and a sweet, fruit like flavor in dilute solution.  used in food, beverage, wine, cosmetics, tobacco, etc. Ethyl Maltol E637 has a function to improve the flavor of food and it enhances the sweetness of food. It can also keep food longer. Applications for this product also include soft drink, ice cream and ice frozen novelties, sorbets, roasted food, pudding, jelly, ketchup, chocolate and candy.

What is Halal Ethyl Maltol E637?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Ethyl Maltol E637 for years.

The manufacturing process of Ethyl Maltol E637 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.

Leave a Comment