Halal Certified Sodium Citrate

(Last Updated On: September 20, 2017)

Halal Sodium Citrate E331(i)

Sodium Citrate E331(i) is the sodium salt of Citric Acid, available as Colorless or white crystalline granule or crystalline powder odorless. As a synthesized chemical, this food additive is general recognized as halal. Sodium Citrate E331(i) is a colorless to white crystalline powder. It can be used as an emulsifier and acidity regulator. It can be used as a flavorant in sausage and beverages, adding a tart, citrus-like flavor.

What is Halal Sodium Citrate E331(i)?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Sodium Citrate E331(i) for years.

The manufacturing process of Sodium Citrate E331(i) is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.