Halal Certified Xylitol

Halal Certified Xylitol

Xylitol E967 is a polyalcohol or sugar alcohol isolated from hardwoods or corncobs. As a plant derived ingredients, Xylitol E967 along with various other sugar alcohols (Sorbitol, Mannitol, Maltitol and Erythritol) are general recognized as halal. Sugar alcohols are halal. They have been approved for use in foods in Muslim countries.

Sugar alcohols (also known as a polyol, polyhydric alcohol, or polyalcohol) are carbohydrates (sugar or starch), that have been modified to contain a hydroxyl group. It is this hydroxyl group that classifies it, chemically, as an alcohol. Sugar alcohols are commonly used for replacing sucrose (sugar) in foodstuffs, often in combination with high intensity artificial sweeteners to counter the low sweetness.

Some common sugar alcohols:

Arabitol
Isomalt
Mannitol
Erythritol
Isomannitol
Ribitol
Glycol Lactitol
Sorbitol
Glycerol (glycerine)
Maltitol
Xylitol

What is Halal Xylitol E967?

It is a popular halal ingredient used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Xylitol E967 for years.

The manufacturing process of Xylitol E967 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products