Halal Certified Stearic Acid

Halal Certified Stearic Acid

Stearic Acid is a saturated fatty acid with an 18-carbon chain manufactured through hydrolysis of triglycerides. As a synthesized chemical, this food acidulent is general recognized as halal.

If Magnesium stearate and stearic acid are often created with substances from animal sources such as non-zabiha beef fat. According to most Ulama, if these ingredients do originate from (non-zabiha) beef fat, then they would be haram.

What is Halal stearic acid?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal stearic acid for years.

The manufacturing process of stearic acid is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products

2 Responses to “Halal Certified Stearic Acid”

By Mohammad Mahedi Hasan - 21 November 2019

PEG 100 Stearate a stearic acid is this Halal?

By iqramunir - 30 July 2020

Are PEg 100 Stearate acid
And CAG 465 halal ?

Leave a Comment