Pea Protein Isolated is a light yellow or milky powder can be used in protein drinks, protein powders, nutrition bars, and dietary supplements. Though it’s considered safe, some are convinced it has potentially dangerous health effects.
What Is Pea protein isolate?
Pea protein isolate is sold as supplements to help people meet their need for dietary protein. Pea protein isolate is a vegetable-based form of this important nutrient. It is suitable for vegetarians and vegans, as well as people with allergies to other forms of protein, such as dairy.
Possible Side Effects of Pea protein isolate
Although Pea protein isolate generally regarded as a very safe and effective supplement, there can be some minor side effects. The side effects may:
- Symptoms of an allergic reaction include:
- Shortness of breath
- Digestive trouble
- Itchy eyes
- Irritated throat
- Nasal congestion
- Abdominal cramping
- Abdominal gas
- Abdominal bloating
- Anaphylactic shock
GRAS Affirmation: Yes
Generally recognized as safe (GRAS) is an American Food and Drug Administration (FDA) designation that a chemical or substance added to food is considered safe by experts, and so is exempted from the usual Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA) food additive tolerance requirements. Pea protein isolate is considered safe.
Special Populations Precaution
There is a lot of concern about diet and nutrition for these population, like Newborns, children, pregnant, sensitive to Pea protein isolate populations. Better consult to your doctor if you would like to intake Pea protein isolate.