Vital Wheat Gluten is a meat-like, vegetarian food product. It is made from the gluten, or protein portion of wheat, and is used as a meat substitute. It is often used to imitate the flavor and texture of duck, poultry, pork, beef, and seafood. Though it’s considered safe, some are convinced it has potentially dangerous health effects.
What Is Vital Wheat Gluten?
Vital Wheat Gluten is a natural vegetable protein derived from wheat or wheat flour with the starch removed. This product is processed into a light yellow powder and is used as a meat substitute in many cultures. This product is found in many sauces including soy sauces, barbecue and teriyaki. Other applications include bakery goods, Japanese and Chinese cuisines, mushrooms, fresh onions and coriander.
Possible Side Effects of Vital Wheat Gluten
Though Vital Wheat Gluten is regarded as safe supplement, there maybe some side effects: If you are celiac, or have a wheat or gluten sensitivity/allergy, you cannot use vital wheat gluten.
GRAS Affirmation: Yes
Generally recognized as safe (GRAS) is an American Food and Drug Administration (FDA) designation that a chemical or substance added to food is considered safe by experts, and so is exempted from the usual Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA) food additive tolerance requirements. Vital Wheat Gluten is considered safe.
Special Populations Precaution
There is a lot of concern about diet and nutrition for these population, like Newborns, children, pregnant, sensitive to Vital Wheat Gluten populations. Better consult to your doctor if you would like to intake Vital Wheat Gluten.