Halal Certified Carrageenan

(Last Updated On: January 3, 2018)

Halal Certified Carrageenan E407

Carrageenan E407 is a polysaccharide isolated from seaweed. As a plant derived ingredients, Carrageenan E407 is general recognized as halal. Carrageenan E407 is a great Halal thickener and is widely used as substitute of gelatin in food and beverage.

What is Halal Carrageenan E407?

Carrageenan E407 is a popular halal ingredient used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Carrageenan E407 for years.

The manufacturing process of Carrageenan E407 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products

Post Tags -