Halal Certified L-Glutamic Acid

Halal L-Glutamic Acid E620

Halal L-Glutamic Acid E620 is an amino acid manufactured through fermentation. As a synthesized chemical, this amino acid is general recognized as halal. L-Glutamic Acid is Miscellaneous – Flavour Enhancers. Suitable for vegetarian label on the package indicates the source of L-Glutamic acid E620 is from vegetable protein or it has to be under Halal or kosher certification. In USA/Canada it is kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. L-Glutamic acid E620 is also obtained from yeast and yeast can also grown on pork fat media then it is Haram. It happened in Indonesia few years back when Monosodium Glutamate is produced using pork fat media to grow yeast by Ajinomonto Indonesia. As it was reported on our website.

What is Halal L-Glutamic Acid E620?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal L-Glutamic Acid E620 for years. The manufacturing process of L-Glutamic Acid E620 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran. By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.

Leave a Comment