Halal Certified DL Tartaric Acid

Halal DL Tartaric Acid

DL-Tartaric Acid is a 1:1 mixture of L-Tartaric acid and D-Tartaric acid. As a plant derived ingredients, this amino acid is general recognized as halal. Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.

What is Halal DL Tartaric Acid?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal DL Tartaric Acid for years.

The manufacturing process of DL Tartaric Acid is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.

Leave a Comment