Halal Certified Tartaric Acid

Halal Certified Tartaric Acid

Tartaric Acid E334 is diprotic acid initially isolated from grape and wine. As a synthesized chemical, Tartaric Acid and its derivatives (Potassium Bitartrate and DATEM) is general recognized as halal.

Tartaric acid (dihydroxy-succinic acid), if not made/derived from wine, is Halal.

Even though Tartaric acid is a major acid found in wine, on it’s own it is Halal and will not be intoxicating like wine. In wine and other alcohols it is used as an additive for flavour etc.

What is Halal Tartaric Acid E334?

It is a popular halal ingredient used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Tartaric Acid E334 for years.

The manufacturing process of Tartaric Acid is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products

Leave a Comment