Pectin Gluten Free

Does anyone know if Pectin E440 is gluten free? 

Yes. Pectin E440 is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food used as a gelling agent, particularly in jams and jellies. It is also used in dessert fillings, medicines, sweets, as a stabilizer in fruit juices and milk drinks, and as a source of dietary fiber.

Pectin, most commonly used in jams and jellies, is a natural gelling agent found in fruit. Apples and citrus peel are often used to make pectin, is gluten free.


Why is Pectin E440 gluten free?

Gluten is a type of elastic grain protein that helps wheat, rye and barley hold their shape. Because of its glue-like properties, gluten is often added to other food products—pasta, sauces, crackers, baked goods—to thicken or bind those products together. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Pectin are Citrus Peel and apple peel; Pectin barely includes gluten impurity. So, Pectin is gluten free.

How is Pectin used in gluten free food?

Pectin E440 is widely used in food production to provide stronger texture to protein drinks, such as drinking yogurt. Pectin is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

Why should you go Gluten free?

Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

Leave a Comment