Halal Certified Glycerol Monostearate

(Last Updated On: April 18, 2017)

Halal Glycerol Monostearate

Glycerol Monostearate is a glycerol ester of stearic acid manufactured through chemical synthesis. As a synthesized chemical, this food emulsifier is general recognized as halal.

E471- Mono and diglycerides of fatty acids (glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate)  is primarily derived from Glycerol. My understanding is that E471 is derived from Glycerine (Glycerol) which could be from a plant or animal source.

  1. Plant source is obviously Halal.
  2. The animal source of glycerine originates as a by-product of soap manufacturing.

What is Halal Glycerol Monostearate ?

It is a popular halal ingredient used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Glycerol Monostearate for years.

The manufacturing process of Glycerol Monostearate is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products