Halal Certified Sodium Propionate

Halal Sodium Propionate E281

Sodium Propionate E281 is sodium salt of propionic acid, available as White crystalline solid or powder. As a synthesized chemical, Sodium Propionate E281 is general recognized as halal. Sodium Propionate E281 is a white crystal, granule, or crystalline powder that can be odorless, or have a slight propionic acid odor. This product is most commonly used as an anti-fungus agent and food preservative in cakes and cheeses.

What is Halal Sodium Propionate E281 ?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Sodium Propionate E281  for years.

The manufacturing process of Sodium Propionate E281 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.

Leave a Comment