Halal Certified Monascus Red

Halal Monascus Red

Halal Monascus Red is a natural food pigment manufactured through fermentation using monascus purpureus or extraction from red yeast rice, available as Murrey Powder. As a plant derived ingredients, this food colorant is general recognized as halal. Monascus Red is a dark purple powder that is extracted from raw excellent rice and good Monascus strains by fermenting, lixiviating and spraying. This product is commonly used in wine, meat products, canned foods, medicine, etc.

What is Halal Monascus Red?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Monascus Red for years.

The manufacturing process of Monascus Red is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.