Halal Certified Sodium stearoyl lactylate

(Last Updated On: November 15, 2017)

Halal Sodium stearoyl lactylate E481

Halal Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate is a versatile food additives manufactured through esterification of stearic acid with lactic acid and partially neutralized with food-grade soda ash, available as White or slightly yellowish powder or brittle solid with a characteristic odour. As a synthesized chemical, this food emulsifier is general recognized as halal. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (SSL) appears as a white to ivory white waxy powder. It is dispersible in hot water and soluble in hot oils and fats. It is used as food additives and food ingredients, used in baked goods as a dough conditioner to improve quality of gluten in wheat flour, aiding in increased volume and more uniform crumb structure. Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate is also used in non dairy creamer to ensure good dispersion and whitening.

What is Halal Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate E481?

It is a popular halal food additives used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate E481 for years.

The manufacturing process of Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate E481 is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)

-Lard

-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products.