Halal Certified Gelatin

Halal Certified Gelatin

Gelatin is initially isolated from skin and bones of pig and other animals. So it’s generally forbidden in Islamic food. To meet the requirements of Islamic food, halal gelatin is isolated from fish, chicken and bovine. At the same time, Agar Agar, Carrageenan, Gellan Gum, Tara Gum, Locust Bean Gum, and various other Vegetarian thickeners are developed to replace gelatin in various applications.

What is Halal Gelatin?

It is a popular halal ingredient used in food and beverage. We have been supplying halal Gelatin for years.

The manufacturing process of Gelatin is according to Islamic law, and is free from pork products, alcohol and certain other ingredients.

Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Koran.

By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

1. Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.

2. Processed, made, produced, manufactured and/or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.

All foods are considered Halal except the following:

-Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants

-Non-Halal animal fat

-Enzymes (microbial enzymes are permissible)

-Gelatine from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal)

-L-cysteine (if from human hair)


-Lipase (only animal lipase need be avoided)

-Non-Halal animal shortening

-Pork products

-Unspecified meat broth

-Rennet (All forms should be avoided except for plant, microbial and synthetic rennet, as well as rennet obtained from Halal slaughtered animals)

-Stock (mixed species broth or meat stock)

-Tallow (non-Halal species)

-Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals

-Foods contaminated with any of the above products

Leave a Comment